Lucas Church

JAX® Mice, Clinical & Research Services, Operations

 Lucas Church

Tell us a bit about yourself and your background. Where you grew up, where you live now, family and pets… anything goes! 

I grew up in Mariaville, Maine, a small town out in the woods. I spent most of my childhood enjoying nature and playing sports with my family. I currently live in Hancock with my girlfriend Erin, our 2 year old son Cash, our two dogs Zeppelin and Wrigley, and our two cats Bodhi and Hobbes.

What hobbies or interests do you enjoy in your free time?

I am a huge fan of music. I've loved music as long as I can remember and I enjoy playing guitar. My idol in the world of music is Jimmy Page, the lead guitarist from Led Zeppelin. I also enjoy going on hikes with my family and spending time together.

Tell us about someone in your life who inspired you or helped you become who you are today.

My parents were my biggest inspirations growing up. My mother is a very kind and loving person who showed me unconditional love and my father was always gone for work when I woke up for school and would come home long after I did. I learned to be a compassionate and hardworking person under their guidance.

What motivates you or helps you feel fulfilled?

My motivation is my son. As parents, I believe we owe our children everything we can give them. I want my son to view me as a kind and hardworking person who gave him everything he needed to succeed in life. 

What do you do really well? Is there anything you wish you could improve?

I would say I play guitar pretty well and if you ask Cash I think he'd say I'm pretty good at building pillow forts. I strive to improve as a person every single day and be a little better than I was the day before. 

What’s an accomplishment you are really proud of? Is there something you want to do, but haven't done yet?

I would say my proudest accomplishment is becoming a father. I am also really proud of my career growth at the lab. Something I want to do but I haven't done yet is travel with my family.  

Let’s talk about your career journey. What inspired you to go into your current field? What first brought you to JAX? Has your job changed since you joined?

My journey at the lab started in December 2019. When I applied, my son was born in February of 2019 and I had just started working at a very demanding job. I worked 80-90 hours a week every single week and I was traveling a lot across the state. When I wasn't working I was very tired and I felt like I wasn't spending the quality time with my family that is really important to me. My girlfriend's dad works in Ellsworth as a security guard and he mentioned to me that I should think about starting at the lab so I applied in December and started in January of 2020. I started in the Sterile Supply Area, and then I became the Operations Float, and now I am the warehouse float. 

How do explain your current work to others? What’s your favorite thing about it?

I would say my work consists of helping sending out shipping, unloading deliveries, covering people's positions if they are out, pretty much whatever task is asked of me I do. I like that every day is different and I enjoy my coworkers.   

Anything else you'd like to share?

I feel grateful to work at a place like the lab that makes such a huge difference in the world. It's unlike any other job I have ever had. I truly feel like JAX is more than a job, it's truly a career that I intend to make a lifelong career.