“Biology is destiny. As a result of participating in the GTBs I have a better appreciation and understanding of the diverse genomic testing, when to test, and the potential impact for patient care.”
– Dr. Peter Rubin

“In situations where there is no standard of care established yet, knowing what targetable mutations are present in the cancer provides some additional therapeutic options for consideration.”
– Dr. Maksim Liaukovich

“Precision medicine has become an essential part of oncology and management of our patients. Genomic Tumor Boards provided by JAX are an integral aspect of the MCGI 2.0 research study. The GTBs include experts in the science and the utilization of this data and give me great confidence that I can use this data to provide the most advanced targeted treatment for our patients.”
– Dr. Philip Brooks

“The information presented at the tumor boards is timely, relevant and difficult for the community oncologist to acquire in other ways.”
– Dr. Sarah Ketchum

“The ability to discuss patients and their genomic profile has not only been academically stimulating but also clinically significant by uncovering some additional novel treatment options for patients.”
– Dr. Christine Lu-Emerson

MCGI Genomic Tumor Board (GTB) Series

The MCGI Genomic Tumor Board (GTB) sessions are a series of virtual meetings coordinated as part of the Maine Cancer Genomics Initiative. During a GTB meeting, clinical test report results from genomic tumor testing are discussed with a panel of expert external advisors, oncologists and pathologists from the MCGI network, clinical trial and genomic testing experts.

The goal of the sessions is to provide interpretation support for treating clinicians and to allow the assembled community of M.D.s to discuss potential treatment options for the patient, creating the opportunity for personalized medicine.

MCGI GTBs address a significant barrier to wider adoption of cancer genomic testing in clinical care---the interpretation of clinical genomic test results. The information in a test report includes a significant amount of curated data to give a clinician the highest amount of information to inform treatment decisions in the best possible way. However, the process of interpreting this information and translating it into clinical care can be time-consuming and the MCGI GTBs are designed to efficiently facilitate this process. The MCGI GTBs have been deemed as an eligible CME [hyperlink to CME page, see below] activity.

Clinicians attending the MCGI GTB sessions benefit from the input of several experts in the field in a moderated discussion. Our genomic tumor board advisors have extensive experience in using clinical genomic tumor testing results to guide patient treatment. Additional expertise and support are brought to the discussion by representatives from The Jackson Laboratory's CLIA Lab and The Jackson Laboratory’s Clinical Knowledge Base (CKB), as well as a medical science liaison from the respective testing company.

The MCGI GTB meetings are held virtually, allowing providers from across the state of Maine to access this educational activity without need for travel. MCGI GTB meetings are 30 minutes to one hour in length.

Our team strives to make GTB meetings easy for clinician participation: all we need is a de-identified genomic test report and clinical summary and we handle the rest. If you are interested in presenting a case, please submit a case for presentation below, or email us at mcgi@jax.org.

2022 Session Dates

All sessions convene via video-teleconference (VTC) in U.S. Eastern Time.  

JANUARY

  • Wednesday, January 5, at 8:00 a.m., with SMHC
  • Wednesday, January 12, at 12:30 p.m., with Pen Bay Medical Center
  • Tuesday, January 18, at 12:15 p.m., with HACCC
  • Thursday, January 20, at 9:00 a.m., with York Hospital
  • Thursday, January 20, at 4:00 p.m., with Northern Light
  • Wednesday, January 26, at 12:00 p.m., with MMP Oncology
  • Monday, January 31, at 12:00 p.m., with A.R. Gould Hospital

FEBRUARY

  • Tuesday, February 1, at 9:00 a.m., with Neuro-Oncology
  • Friday, February 4, at 7:00 a.m., with CMMC
  • Wednesday, February 9, at 12:30 p.m., with Pen Bay Medical Center
  • Thursday, February 10, at 11:00 a.m., with Pediatric Oncology
  • Tuesday, February 15, at 12:15 p.m., with HACCC
  • Thursday, February 17, at 4:00 p.m., with Northern Light
  • Wednesday, February 23, at 12:00 p.m., with MMP Oncology
  • Thursday, February 24, at 12:00 p.m., with Mercy Hospital
  • Monday, February 28, at 4:30 p.m., with Cary Medical Center

MARCH

  • Wednesday, March 2, at 8:00 a.m., with SMHC
  • Wednesday, March9, at 12:30 p.m., with Pen Bay Medical Center
  • Tuesday, March 15, at 12:15 p.m., with HACCC
  • Thursday, March 17, at 9:00 a..m., with York Hospital
  • Wednesday, March 23, at 12:00 p.m., with MMP Oncology
  • Wednesday, March 30, at 12:00 p.m., with MDI Hospital/MCMH

APRIL

  • Friday, April 1, at 7:00 a.m., with CMMC
  • Tuesday, April 5, at 9:00 a.m., with Neuro-Oncology
  • Wednesday, April 13, at 12:30 p.m., with Pen Bay Medical Center
  • Thursday, April 14, at 11:00 a.m. with Pediatric Oncology
  • Tuesday, April 19, ay 12:15 p.m., with HACCC
  • Thursday, April 21 at 12:00 p.m., with Mercy Hospital
  • Thursday, April 21, at 4:00 p.m., with Northern Light
  • Monday, April 25, at 4:30 p.m., with Cary Medical Center
  • Wednesday, April 27, at 12:00 p.m., with MMP Oncology
  • Friday, April 29, at 9:00 a.m., with Gynecology-Oncology

MAY

  • Wednesday, May 4, at 8:00 a.m., with SMHC
  • Wednesday, May 11, at 12:30 p.m., with Pen Bay Medical Center
  • Tuesday, May 17, at 12:15 p.m., with HACCC
  • Thursday, May 19, at 9:00 a.m., with York Hospital
  • Thursday, May 19, at 4:00 p.m. with Northern Light
  • Monday, May 23, at 12:00 p.m., with A.R. Gould Hospital
  • Wednesday, May 25, at 12:00 p.m., with MMP Oncology

JUNE

  • Friday, June 3, at 7:00 a.m., with CMMC
  • Tuesday, June 7, at 9:00 a.m., with Neuro-Oncology
  • Wednesday, June 8, at 12:30 p.m., with Pen Bay Medical Center
  • Thursday, June 9, at 11:00 a.m., with Pediatric Oncology
  • Thursday, June 16, at 4:00 p.m., with Northern Light
  • Tuesday, June 21, at 12:15 p.m., with HACCC
  • Wednesday, June 22, at 12:00 p.m., with MMP Oncology
  • Monday, June 27, at 4:30 p.m., with Cary Medical Center
  • Wednesday, June 29, at 12:00 p.m., with MDI Hospital/MCMH
  • Thursday, June 30, at 12:00 p.m., with Mercy Hospital

JULY

  • Wednesday, July 6, at 8:00 a.m., with SMHC
  • Wednesday, July 13, at 12:30 p.m., with Pen Bay Medical Center
  • Tuesday, July 19, at 12:15 p.m., with HACCC
  • Thursday, July 21, at 9:00 a.m., with York Hospital
  • Thursday, July 21, at 4:00 p.m., with Northern Light
  • Wednesday, July 27, at 12:00 p.m., with MMP Oncology
  • Friday, July 29, at 9:00 a.m., with Gynecology Oncology

AUGUST

  • Tuesday, August 2, at 9:00 a.m., with Neuro-Oncology
  • Friday, August 5, at 7:00 a.m., with CMMC
  • Wednesday, August 10, at 12:30 p.m., with Pen Bay Medical Center
  • Thursday, August 11, at 11:00 a.m., with Pediatric Oncology
  • Tuesday, August 16, at 12:15 p.m., with HACCC
  • Thursday, August 18, at 4:00 p.m., with Northern Light
  • Monday, August 22, at 4:30 p.m., with Cary Medical Center
  • Wednesday, August 24, at 12:00 p.m., with MMP Oncology
  • Thursday, August 25, at 12:00 p.m., with Mercy Hospital
  • Monday, August 29, at 12:00 p.m., with A.R. Gould Hospital
  • Wednesday, August 31, at 12:00 p.m., with MDI Hospital/MCMH

SEPTEMBER

  • Wednesday, September 7, at 8:00 a.m., with SMHC
  • Wednesday, September 14, at 12:30 p.m., with Pen Bay Medical Center
  • Thursday, September 15, at 9:00 a.m., with York Hospital
  • Thursday, September 15, at 4:00 p.m., with Northern Light
  • Tuesday, September 20, at 12:15 p.m., with HACCC
  • Wednesday, September 28, at 12:00 p.m., with MMP Oncology
  • Friday, September 30, at 9:00 a.m., with Gynecology Oncology

OCTOBER

  • Tuesday, October 4, at 9:00 a.m., with Neuro-Oncology
  • Friday, October 7, at 7:00 a.m., with CMMC
  • Wednesday, October 12, at 12:30 p.m., with Pen Bay Medical Center
  • Thursday, October 13, at 11:00 a.m., with Pediatric Oncology
  • Tuesday, October 18, at 12:15 p.m., with HACCC
  • Thursday, October 20, at 12:00 p.m., with Mercy Hospital
  • Thursday, October 20, at 4:00 p.m., with Northern Light
  • Monday, October 24, at 4:30 p.m., with Cary Medical Center
  • Wednesday, October 26, at 12:00 p.m., with MMP Oncology
  • Monday, October 31, at 12:00 p.m., with A.R. Gould Hospital

NOVEMBER

  • Wednesday, November 2, at 8:00 a.m., with SMHC
  • Wednesday, November 9, at 12:30 p.m., with Pen Bay Medical Center
  • Tuesday, November 15, at 12:15 p.m., with HACCC
  • Thursday, November 17, at 9:00 a.m., with York Hospital
  • Thursday, November 17, at 4:00 p.m., with Northern Light
  • Wednesday, November 30, at 12:00 p.m., with MDI Hospital/MCMH

DECEMBER

  • Friday, December 2, at 7:00 a.m., with CMMC
  • Tuesday, December 6, at 9:00 a.m., with Neuro-Oncology
  • Wednesday, December 7, at 12:00 p.m., with MMP Oncology
  • Thursday, December 8, at 11:00 a.m., with Pediatric Oncology
  • Wednesday, December 14, at 12:30 p.m., with Pen Bay Medical Center
  • Thursday, December 15, at 12:00 p.m., with Mercy Hospital
  • Thursday, December 15, at 4:00 p.m., with Northern Light
  • Monday, December 19, at 4:30 p.m., with Cary Medical Center
  • Tuesday, December 20, at 12:15 p.m., with HACCC

You might be interested in…

Due to the virtual format of the sessions, physician sign-in for CME credit is recorded as a screen-shot image of the participants list within the VTC software, or on a hand copy sign-in sheet for in-person attendees at MCGI study sites.

    

CME evaluations are sent electronically at the end of the year-long GTB session series to signed-in attendees. Upon completing and submitting the evaluation, attendees are awarded up to the maximum CME credits for which they are eligible.

Clinicians interested in attending may contact us at mcgi@jax.org to be added to the invitation list.

GTB External Advisors

Join a Session

We welcome guests to sit in on the MCGI GTB sessions and would like to hear more about your interest and how you heard about us. Interested observers may reach out to mcgi@jax.org to be added to our invitation list. Please tell us about yourself and whether you might be interested in claiming CME credit for your attendance.