The Charles E. Hewett, Ph.D., Leadership Excellence Fund

Created to honor and preserve Chuck Hewett’s unique legacy of leadership, mentorship, and care for fellow colleagues.

Chuck HewettCharles E. Hewett, Ph.D., (“Chuck”), transformed The Jackson Laboratory over his fifteen years of service. His many contributions to JAX as chief operating officer include the completion of new research laboratories in Bar Harbor, Maine, the relocation and expansion of the Laboratory’s California operation, the creation of The Jackson Laboratory for Genomic Medicine in Connecticut, the development of the Maine Cancer Genomics Initiative, and the conceptual framework for a new vivarium in Ellsworth. 

Whether recruiting the most talented employees, individually mentoring staff early in their careers, challenging and trusting people to tackle new responsibilities, or establishing education and career development opportunities for every employee at the Laboratory, Chuck made the people of JAX his priority. The Charles E. Hewett, Ph.D., Leadership Excellence Fund continues and builds upon Chuck’s commitment towards developing talent, cultivating leaders, and ensuring that every employee at JAX is on a path to success. 

The fund empowers the next generation of JAX leaders. It allows for educational opportunities, professional development, mentorship programs, continued prioritization of health and wellness, and the overall culture of happy, healthy and motivated employees that Chuck established here. 

Donor Honor Roll

Thank you to those who have contributed to the Charles E. Hewett, Ph.D., Leadership Excellence Fund:

  • Anonymous
  • Robert Alvine
  • Bangor Savings Bank
  • Lorraine Aronson and Tim Bannon
  • LuAnn and Michael Ballesteros
  • James and Lee Broder
  • David and Susan Cabot
  • Kathleen and Randy Corbet
  • Mr. and Mrs. Lou J. D'Ambrosio
  • Christopher D. Earl, Ph.D.
  • Christopher and Erin Fogg
  • Nancy and Nicholas Fox
  • Mr. and Mrs. Peter F. Gerrity
  • Ms. Sari J. Greene
  • Richard S. and Susan S. Gurin
  • Elizabeth, Samuel, and Nathaniel Hewett
  • Cynthia S. Johnson
  • The Kerchner Family
  • Peter T. Lamothe
  • Ms. Louise Lopez
  • Gregory Leet and Albie Micklich
  • Neal Milch
  • Ramlah B. Nehring, Ph.D.
  • Mechelle Olórtegui
  • Dennis and Peggy Paustenbach
  • David and Barbara Roux
  • Mr. and Mrs. W. Tom Sawyer, Jr.
  • Andy and Loring Schwarz
  • E. Thomas Johnson and Joyce M. Sullivan
  • Margaret Sumpter
  • Tom and Beth Volpe
  • Pam and Mark Whittaker
  • Mr. Brian F. Wruble